Wednesday, 13 December 2017

Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books - Top Five Children's Picture Books 2017

A book makes a fantastic gift, but the gift of a picture book is particularly special. It is an opportunity to share a great story and wonderful illustrations together. Never before have we been in an age of such wonderful choice. Today we have some of the most amazing picture books on sale. Recently, we have spent some wonderful hours in bookshops selecting picture books for Christmas presents. Here are some of our top choices, but we would be delighted to consider your favourites and add these to our list.

Mac Barnett (Author) Jon Klassen (Illustrator) - The Wolf, the Duck and the Mouse - Walker Books (12 Oct. 2017) Hardcover – 12 Oct 2017 - ISBN-13: 978-1406377798

Early one morning a mouse met a wolf and was quickly gobbled up... When a woeful mouse is swallowed up by a wolf, he quickly learns he is not alone: a duck has already set up digs and, boy, has that duck got it figured out! Turns out it's pretty nice inside the belly of the beast - there's delicious food, elegant table settings and, best of all, dancing. And there's something more: no more fear of being eaten by a wolf! Life's not so bad, considering the alternatives. That is, until a hunter shows up... With a nod to traditional fables and a wink to the reader, the award-winning Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole, Extra Yarn and Triangle offer a tale of cooperation and creative cuisine that is sure to go down easy.

Benji Davies - The Grotlyn - HarperCollins Children's Books (7 Sept. 2017) Hardcover - ISBN-13: 978-0008212759

A stunningly illustrated picture book full of mystery and suspense, from the bestselling author of THE STORM WHALE and GRANDAD’S ISLAND.
“I know when the Grotlyn’s been
Slipping through your house unseen…”
What is the mysterious Grotlyn? What sort of creature could it be, scuttling across the town, frightening everyone in its path? And why has it stolen PC Vickers’ knickers?!

A beautifully illustrated rhyming tale about things that go bump in the night for ages four and up, from picture book superstar, Benji Davies, winner of Oscar’s First Book Prize 2014 and Sainsbury’s Children’s Book of the Year 2015. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen.

Tom Percival - Perfectly Norman - Bloomsbury Children's Books (10 Aug. 2017) Paperback - ISBN-13: 978-1408880975

Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he grew a pair of wings!
Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly - and he has the most fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think? Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat. 
But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting. Can Norman ever truly be himself?

Rebecca Green - How To Make Friends With A Ghost - Tundra (7 Sept. 2017)  Hardcover  - ISBN-13: 978-1101919019

What do you do when you meet a ghost? One: Provide the ghost with some of its favorite snacks, like mud tarts and earwax truffles. Two: Tell your ghost bedtime stories (ghosts love to be read to). Three: Make sure no one mistakes your ghost for whipped cream or a marshmallow when you aren't looking! If you follow these few simple steps and the rest of the essential tips in How to Make Friends with a Ghost, you'll see how a ghost friend will lovingly grow up and grow old with you.Website:

David Litchfield - Grandad's Secret Giant - Frances Lincoln Children's Books (6 April 2017) - Hardcover - ISBN-13: 978-1847808479

'Funny, touching and visually stunning, this really is a book to treasure.' Daily Mail A GIANT story of belonging and friendship from David Litchfield, author of the Waterstones Illustrated Book Prize 2016 winner The Bear and the Piano. "He has hands the size of tables," Grandad said, "legs as long as drainpipes and feet as big as rowing boats. Do you know who I mean?" "Yes," sighed Billy. "The Secret Giant. But he's not real!" Billy doesn't believe his Grandad when he tells him there's a giant living in his town, doing good deeds for everyone. He knows that a giant is too big to keep himself hidden. And why would he WANT to keep himself a secret? But as time goes on, Billy learns that some secrets are too BIG to stay secret for long...      
This delightful heartfelt story of belonging and friendship teaches the importance of tolerance and acceptance to young children. Website:
Post a Comment