Thursday, 4 April 2019

New Children's & Young Adult Book Picks April 2019 - Post One - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books


Here at Mr. Ripley's Enchanted Books, we have another cracking and exciting month full of fantastic children's book releases. Every book is a fantasy adventure story that you can get lost in. So, we would like to recommend the following books to you. This is the first of four book recommendations; there's something here for every reader. Check them out and see what you think.

Danny Wallace (Author), Jamie Littler (Illustrator) - Hamish and the Monster Patrol - Published by Simon & Schuster Children's UK (18 April 2019) - Paperback - Age: 8+
Get ready for another hilarious adventure from bestselling author Danny Wallace brought to life with illustrations from Jamie Littler, perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl, David Baddiel and David Solomons!

Things are afoot in Starkley... again! Out in the ocean something's on the move ... something BIG ... something that might change everything ...

While most of Starkley's inhabitants have fled or gone into lockdown, Hamish and his pals in the PDF are coming up with a plan, because if they don't save the world then who will?!

But this time they’re not alone. Luckily, the top-secret Monster Patrol is on hand to help … even if that ‘help’ is in the form of a strange new kid, a bizarre-looking fish monster and a bonkers old lady…



Pádraig Kenny - Pog - Published by Chicken House (4 April 2019) - ISBN-13: 978-1911490395 - Paperback - Age: 9+

David and Penny's strange new home is surrounded by forest. It's the childhood home of their mother, who's recently died. But other creatures live here ... magical creatures, like tiny, hairy Pog. He's one of the First Folk, protecting the boundary between the worlds. As the children explore, they discover monsters slipping through from the place on the other side of the cellar door. Meanwhile, David is drawn into the woods by something darker, which insists there's a way he can bring his mother back ...


Anthea Simmons - Lightning Mary - Published by Andersen Press (4 April 2019) - ISBN-13: 978-1783448296 - Paperback - Age: 9+
Ordinary is what most people are and I am not. I am not ordinary at all. I am a scientist. One stormy night, a group of villagers are struck by lightning. The only survivor is a baby - Mary Anning. From that moment on, a spark is lit within her.
Growing up poor but proud on the windswept Dorset coast, Mary follows after her father, hunting for fossils uncovered by waves and landslips: ancient creatures, turned to stone. Ignoring other people's taunts, Mary faces danger to bring back valuable treasures to help feed her family. But tragedy and despair is never far away. Mary must depend upon her unique courage and knowledge to fulfil her dream of becoming a scientist in a time when girls have no opportunities for such ambitions. What will happen when she makes her greatest discovery of all...?


Andri Snaer Magnason (Author), Bjorg Arnadottir (Author) - The Casket of Time - Published by - Yonder (11 April 2019) - ISBN-13: 978-1632062055 - Hardback - Age: 9

Sigrun is sick of all the bad news on TV and, even worse, that her parents are consumed by it. The economic situation' is so bad they can only hope that someone else will fix the mess. When a new contraption called TimeBox (which will allow people to hibernate through the bad times) comes onto the market, Sigrun's family - along with everyone else - decides to sleep through the troubles. But something goes wrong, and Sigrun wakes up too soon. The city is in ruins, unruly forests and wild animals have taken over the streets, and all the grown-ups refuse to wake up. The only signs of civilization are a band of kids like Sigrun, led by Grace - a grandmotherly and mystical researcher. The world, according to Grace, is under an ancient curse. She tells them the myth of Obsidiana, a princess trapped by a greedy king who had conquered the world and now wanted to conquer time. Believing he was protecting Obsidiana from dark and gloomy days, he put her in a crystal box made of spider silk woven so tight that time itself couldn't penetrate. Part Sleeping Beauty and part Snow White, the old fairy tale starts to sound like a prophecy Sigrun and her new friends are living through. Now it's up to them to break the curse, save their families, and mend the world before it's too late.

No comments: