Showing posts with label November 2021. Show all posts
Showing posts with label November 2021. Show all posts

Monday, 15 November 2021

Children's Book Picks - November 2021 - US Published Post - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

 

Quinn Sosna-Spear - The Thirteenth Hour - Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (November 2, 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1534451889 - Hardback 

    Fans of Road Dahl and Neil Gaiman will love this inventive middle-grade fantasy about a girl who uses a family heirloom to travel to fantastical worlds that may be more dangerous than they appear.


    Twelve-year-old Rosemary has been an artist her whole life and especially loves drawing the incredible places from her Aunt Jo’s stories. But illustrating the stories doesn’t mean Rose believes them. And when Aunt Jo gives Rose a pocket watch with instructions on how to use it to access magical dream worlds, Rose just thinks Aunt Jo is being peculiar again.

    While Rose is sleeping, however, she enters a fantastical place where each hour of the pocket watch takes her to a different world. There, Rose befriends a trio of outcasts with special powers and joins their war against the ominous Tall Man.

    When a bully steals Rose’s watch, she can only look on in horror as dream and reality collide and he’s sucked into the Eleventh Hour. Now, Rosemary must gather magic from all twelve dream worlds to rescue the boy who makes her life a living nightmare.

    Lori Adams - AVALINA JONES AND THE EYE OF THE STORM - Published by Spyhop Publishing (November 29, 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1737131205 - Paperback 

      Worlds collide for middle-grade readers who will love the fast-paced thrills, colorful characters, secrets, legends, and the interplay of fantasy and reality in Avalina Jones and the Eye of the Storm. Author Lori Adams expertly delivers a story that is timeless, bringing together elements of sea lore, magic, and adventure. The first book in a seven-book seriesAvalina Jones and the Eye of the Storm, is a romping tale for middle graders who are searching for the next enduring fantasy classic.

      When a young girl learns she is the Last Heir of the legendary pirate Davy Jones, she is whisked away to begin life aboard an enchanted schoolship for Pirate Heirs where danger and excitement awaits. 


      Contemporary kids who happen to be Heirs of the most villainous and celebrated pirates in history. Superstitions, mysteries, curses, secrets, strange ocean creatures, undead pirates, and seafaring legends will thrill middle-grade readers in this rollicking, globe-trotting adventure. 

      Avalina Jones, the Last Heir of the infamous pirate Davy Jones, has never heard of Sea Magic, flying dinghies, Pirate Heir schoolships, phantom islands, undead pirates, or creatures called Half Ones. And she has never understood her strange connection to water. But when a beautiful woman arrives in a swirling waterspout, Avalina's life explodes with more adventures than she can possibly imagine. She takes her rightful place aboard a giant Pirate Heir schoolship teeming with Heirs of the world's most nefarious pirates.

      Raised as a Landlubber, Avalina quickly realizes bizarre and danger are normal aboard Pirate Heir schoolships-food fights back, school supplies giggle or explode in your face. And not everyone can be trusted.

      When Avalina is accused of a terrible crime, she must prove her innocence or risk being banished from the schoolship forever-and this in the middle of a crucial Treasure Hunt!

      Avalina races to unlock secrets of the ship, and makes a dangerous discovery that threatens everyone aboard. With the help of her new friends Charlie, Pippa, and Bummy, Avalina draws closer to the truth, unaware that a deeper, darker fate awaits.



      Alex Foulkes - Rules for Vampires - Published by Aladdin (November 23, 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1534498358 - Hardback 

      The Nevermoor series meets Hotel Transylvania in this dazzling debut middle-grade adventure set in a world of talking spiders, living forests, and haunted castles about a vampire girl who wants to fit in but first must defeat an evil ghost.


      After one hundred years of being a vampire, it’s time for Eleonora to have her Birthnight. Since Leo’s last rite of passage, her Grimwalk, ended with her losing her right leg and a good deal of her confidence, she’s hoping to redeem herself in the eyes of her mother, the fearsome Lady Sieglinde. All Leo has to do is hunt down and kill her first prey, and she already has the perfect plan. After all, who will miss an orphan from the bleak St. Frieda’s Home for Unwanted Children? 

      But an accidental fire causes more death and destruction than Leo bargained for. Instead of killing one carefully selected victim, she’s created several ghosts from the orphanage residents. And one sinister specter, the Orphanmaster, is poised to terrorize the living residents in a nearby town. To stop him and try to undo some of the mess she’s made, Leo must team up with the orphan ghost Minna. 

      Will Le
      o have the chance to prove herself as a vampire before her Birthnight is over, or will she discover that there are no winners in the battle of undead versus undead?


      John Peragine (Author), Chris O'Brien (Illustrator) - Secrets of the Twilight Djinn Collection: Volume One - Published by 
      Crumblebee Books (November 12, 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1737644927 - Paperback 

      In this volume are Max and the Spice Thieves (Book 1) and Max and the Isle of Sanctus (Book 2)
      Book 1- When his mother goes missing, Max Daybreaker’s world is turned upside down. Luckily, a crew of Spice Pirates, led by the mysterious Captain Cinn, help Max on his dangerous mission across the three seas. Along the way, an unlikely alliance aids in his search—a teenage warrior queen, a three-eyed seer, and an assassin spy. Their journey takes them through treacherous lands while facing shapeshifting bears, an ancient witch, harpies, and the nightmarish Djinn, who will stop at nothing to enslave the world. With every new challenge, Max unlocks the secrets of his unsettling past. Powers awaken within, forcing him to question everything he knows. Is Max who he thinks he is? Only time and destiny will tell…

      Book 2- In the second book of Secrets of the Twilight Djinn, Max Daybreaker embarks on all-new adventures. Max must battle a Kraken, ride a fire-breathing dragon, and defeat the evil djinn whose powers are growing every day. The stakes are high for Max as he tries to protect his friends from angry sea gods and a vengeful sultan while also saving his mom from a terrible curse! Max must reach the Isle of Sanctus using his unpredictable magic power and foes on all sides before time runs out.

      Monday, 8 November 2021

      Children's Book Picks November 2021 - UK Post One - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

       

      Graham Whitlock -  The Crystal Palace Chronicles Book 1: Star of Nimrod  - Published by Grass Roots Productions Ltd (4 Nov. 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1739980429 - Paperback 

      WHAT IF THE PAST BECAME YOUR FUTURE? Join teenager Joe on a rollercoaster adventure travelling back in time to the heyday of Victorian Crystal Palace.

      Joe's world is turned upside down when he discovers a shattered compass among the brambles where the Crystal Palace once stood and travels through time back to 1888.

      With help from the teenage H. G. Wells and Samuel Coleridge Taylor, daredevil Iris Blondin, Arthur Conan Doyle the creator of Sherlock Holmes and the Queen of the Gypsies, Joe must foil dangerous diamond thieves to uncover dark secrets about the 'People's Palace'. Standing on boundaries between worlds, its mysterious secrets are tied to the fate of his family.

      Will Joe be trapped in the past with his new friends, find a way to return to his family or can he somehow have both?

      Vivian French - The Runaways of Haddington Hall - Published by Walker Books (4 Nov. 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1406387537 - Paperback 

      A high octane, high drama romp, following the adventures of Victorian laundry maid Minnie O'Sullivan and her unforgettable band of friends.

      After a series of misfortunes, Minnie O’Sullivan is whisked away to Haddington Hall: a nightmarish home for wayward girls. Bad becomes worse when the hall’s ruthless founder, Mrs Haddington, takes an instant dislike to brave, determined Minnie, and she’s in danger of losing everything… But Minnie has never backed down from a fight in her life, and she’s not about to start now! Irresistible characters and a compulsive plot with twists aplenty; Vivian French conjures up the very spirit of Dickensian England in a wonderful new novel for middle-grade readers.

      Ross Montgomery - The Chime Seekers - Published by Walker Books (4 Nov. 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1406391190 - Paperback 

      Step into a world of faerie tricks and hidden danger...

      When an evil faerie steals Yanni’s baby sister and swaps her for a changeling, Yanni is swept into a dangerous race against time to get her back. 

      For faeries delight in tricks and rescuing her won’t be easy. With the help of his cousin, Amy, and the reluctant changeling, Yanni must travel to goblin palaces and battle-swept oceans, discovering ancient treasures and secrets along the way. 

      Yanni will need every drop of courage and even a few tricks of his own, if he’s to outwit the faerie and save his sister…

      Ross Montgomery brings the magical world of British folklore to life in this contemporary fantasy novelBursting with Ross's trademark charm, humour and heart, and with echoes of David Bowie's Labyrinth.

      Lucy Strange - Sisters of the Lost Marsh - Published by Chicken House (4 Nov. 2021) - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1913322373 - Paperback 

      Life is hard for Willa, Grace and Freya, and their three younger sisters. Six motherless girls working a farm, living in fear of their cruel father and the superstition that obsesses him - The Curse of Six Daughters. 

      With the arrival of the mysterious Full Moon Fayre, there's a chance for the eldest girls to steal a moment's fun, but the day the fayre moves on, Grace vanishes. 

      Willa goes after her, following a trail that leads into the dangerous Lost Marsh, where it is said a will-o'-the-wisp lures lost souls into the dark waters of the mire. If Willa is to survive and reunite her family, she will need to unravel the secrets her father has kept hidden, and face her own deepest fears ...