Showing posts with label Best New Books. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Best New Books. Show all posts

Monday, 27 September 2021

Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books - Children's Book Picks September 2021 - ( US Published Post)

 

Katherine Applegate - Willodeen - Published by Feiwel & Friends (September 7, 2021) - Hardback - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250147400

    A singular middle-grade novel about a girl who risks everything to help a handmade creature who comes to life.


    The earth is old and we are not, and that is all you must remember . . .


    Eleven-year-old Willodeen adores creatures of all kinds, but her favorites are the most unlovable beasts in the land: strange beasts known as “screechers.” The villagers of Perchance call them pests, even monsters, but Willodeen believes the animals serve a vital role in the complicated web of nature.

    Lately, though, nature has seemed angry indeed. Perchance has been cursed with fires and mudslides, droughts and fevers, and even the annual migration of hummingbears, a source of local pride and income, has dwindled. For as long as anyone can remember, the tiny animals have overwintered in shimmering bubble nests perched atop blue willow trees, drawing tourists from far and wide. This year, however, not a single hummingbear has returned to Perchance, and no one knows why.

    When a handmade birthday gift brings unexpected magic to Willodeen and her new friend, Connor, she’s determined to speak up for the animals she loves, and perhaps even uncover the answer to the mystery of the missing hummingbears.

    A timely and timeless tale about our fragile earth, and one girl’s fierce determination to make a difference.

    Mary Downing Hahn - The Thirteenth Cat - Published - by Clarion Books (September 7, 2021) - Hardback - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0358394082

    From the master of middle-grade horror Mary Downing Hahn, a new thriller about bravery, unexpected friendship, and sinister cats that will captivate readers with its chilling mix of mystery and magic.

    Zoey loves spending the summer with her Aunt Alice, and her aunt's new house is the perfect place to cozy up with a good book. But she's unnerved by the overgrown forest next door, which is creepy even in the daytime and full of eerie sounds at night. Worse, there are rumors in town of a dark force in those woods. And Zoey can't deny that the wild black cats who live there seem to be watching her.

    When she encounters a mean old woman who claims to be their owner, Zoey realizes there's more to the cats than meets the eye. But little does she know that the closer she comes to discovering their secret, the more danger she's in...

    Alex London - City of Thieves (Battle Dragons) -  Published by Scholastic  (September 21, 2021) - Hardback - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1338716542

    In a modern mega-city built around dragons, one boy gets caught up in the world of underground dragon battles and a high-stakes gang war that could tear his family apart.

    Once, dragons nearly drove themselves to extinction. But in the city of Drakopolis, humans domesticated them centuries ago. Now dragons haul the city’s cargo, taxi its bustling people between skyscrapers, and advertise its wares in bright, neon displays. Most famously of all, the dragons battle. Different breeds take to the skies in nighttime bouts between the infamous kins―criminal gangs who rule through violence and intimidation.

    Abel has always loved dragons, but after a disastrous showing in his dragon rider’s exam, he's destined never to fly one himself. All that changes the night his sister appears at his window, entrusting him with a secret...and a stolen dragon.

    Turns out, his big sister is a dragon thief! Too bad his older brother is a rising star in Drakopolis law enforcement...

    To protect his friends and his family, Abel must partner with the stolen beast, riding in kin battles and keeping more secrets than a dragon has scales.

    When everyone wants him fighting on their side, can Abel figure out what's worth fighting for?


    Shanthi Sekaran  - The Samosa Rebellion - Published by Katherine Tegen Books (September 21, 2021) - Hardback - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0063051539

    Shanthi Sekaran makes her middle-grade debut with this timely and stunning novel in which a young boy and his friends must rescue his grandmother from a relocation camp after their country’s descent into xenophobia. Perfect for fans of The Night Diary and Front Desk.

    Before his grandmother moved from India to the island of Mariposa, Muki Krishnan’s life was good. But now? He has to share his bedroom with Paati, his grandmother, who snores like a bulldozer and wakes him up at dawn to do yoga.

    Paati’s arrival coincides with even bigger changes in Mariposa. The president divides citizens into Butterflies—families who have lived in Mariposa for three generations—and Moths, who, like Muki’s family, are more recent immigrants. The changes are small at first. But then Muki and his friends find a camp being built to imprison Moths before sending them away. Soon after, his Paati is captured and taken there.

    While devising Paati’s escape, Muki discovers that a secret rebellion is underway, and as he digs deeper, he realizes that rescuing Paati will be the fight of his life.