Monday, 28 January 2019

Kesia Lupo - We Are Blood And Thunder - Book Review - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books



A stunning and original YA fantasy from a fantastic new talent. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor
In a sealed-off city, a young woman, Lena, is running for her life. She has been sentenced to death and her only way to survive is to trust those she has been brought up to fear - those with magic. 
On the other side of the locked gates is a masked lady, Constance, determined to find a way back in. Years ago she escaped before her own powers were discovered. But now she won't hide who she is any longer. 
A powerful and terrifying storm cloud engulfs the city. But this is more than a thunderstorm. This is a spell, and the truth behind why it has been cast is more sinister than anyone can imagine ... But what neither Lena and Constance realise is that the stormcloud binds them - without it, without each other, neither can get what they desire.

What a fantastic start to the year already. As I skip and dance through the large pile of books in the hallway, I am delighted to have uncovered another absolute literary diamond. We Are Blood And Thunder has been written by a fantastic new voice, Kesia Lupo, who is a children's editor at Chicken House Books. This is an outstanding debut YA book that will be published by Bloomsbury in April 2019. I hear you cry but that's such a long time away. However, when a book is as good as this, I need to let you know early on so that you can get it pre-ordered and look forward to reading this in Spring. 

So, what is it that has made me so excited? Well, it all starts many years ago in the Year of Kings 554 to be exact. A city is in quarantine and has been sealed off from the outside world. A young woman on the run, convicted for being a mage, crosses paths with a mysteriously masked lady on the other side of a locked gate. They each have a path to walk and an adventure to explore as they take the reader on a journey into a fantastic plot full of dark and deadly magic. The mysterious vapor will definitely crawl all over your skin and flood your senses as you explode onto the scene of this story. It will both hypnotise and enrapture you with delight. 

When you first start this book, you will have no idea as to where you will end up as you follow a wide cast of brilliantly written characters. However, the book is particularly centered around two lead female characters - Lena and Constance. Their narrative weaves a spider's web of mystery. In fact, you'll get tangled up in the gossamer threads of dark fantasy as you become trapped in a storm of darkness, desire, and danger. The turbulent battle of magical disorder will captivate any readers' attention due to the intense and mind-boggling story. Lingering on key and pivotal moments enables a powerful chemistry to be developed between all of the characters.

The imagination is fully unleashed in this story. A ball of white light hits the reader with twists and twirls of darkness to create an atmospheric backdrop. Everything has been very well crafted and created. I particularly loved stepping into Lord Chatham's Emporium of Magical and Mechanical Delights. This is just one of many special moments that you will dip your fantasy toes into and come out wanting more. It was captivating just stepping through that fantasy door and watching the scene develop - absolutely amazing.

This is undisputedly one of the best YA fantasy books that I've read for some time. The world building and the setting of the story are faultless; cleverly written but not too complicated. The detail and the backstory are just exquisite - I loved the idea of radical mages and the concept of chaos. It all just added to the depth and fascination of the story. It is just a shame that a plot that is so fully delivered and immersive has to end. 

This is a very special book. Within the YA age-range, this has to be one of the most memorable and exciting reads for me in such a long time. Wow, I can't wait for the next book!

1 comment:

Charlotte said...

Just added it to my Goodreads tbr list! It sounds great.