Showing posts with label Book Review 2022. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Book Review 2022. Show all posts

Thursday, 29 September 2022

Jodie Garnish - The Spectaculars - Book Review - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

 


Are you looking for your next favourite read? What about a new series involving magical settings and a trip on a flying canoe? If so, then look no further than the debut book by Jodie Garnish. The Spectaculars will be published in magnificent hardback glory with a brilliant book cover and internal illustrations by Nathan Collins. I can hear you ask when can I get my hands on this book? Well, it will fly into bookshops across the fantasy world on the 29th September 2022 (TODAY!) and has been published by the good people at Usborne Publishing. 

After reading the book synopsis, I thought the story sounded rather wonderful. To be absolutely honest, it really is a theatrical delight that I (and I'm sure you will also) fall in love with. It's a far-flung fantasy story inspired by the author's love for drama and theatre. The plot is brimming with charm and magical stardust as the setting fully immerses the reader. Welcome to the WONDRIA - a place full of magical performers with gifted special powers. However, lurking behind every curtain lies nightmares, danger, peril, and a lot of superstition. 

You will need to keep your wits about you as you join Harper, Trick and Thief in a fast-paced adventure that will elevate you off your feet. The plot is full of marvellous mayhem and unexpected explosions. It's an epic and enchanting zip wire extravaganza full of mystery as the characters look to save their travelling theatre and boarding school from closing for good. The characters are larger than life as they face rivalry, villains, scrapes, and near misses that pull you through epic scenes in a surreal and dramatic way. The story is full of surprises which are all pieced together like a jigsaw to keep the readers both interested and entertained. The author has left a lot of unanswered questions which allows the next installment to be introduced and continue seamlessly; this is going to be a fantastic new series. 

It was a wonder and a delight to read this book; it shines brighter than the North Star.  One of the best debut children's books that I have read this year.  May you be cursed with the stings of a thousand bees and may your toes be chewed off by wolves! Keep this in mind as you decide whether to embark on this new journey. But be warned that if you don't then you'll miss out on the best SPECTACULAR adventure in town. 



Wednesday, 7 September 2022

Tim Tilley - WITCHSTORM - Book Review - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

 


Are you ready to return to another world written and illustrated by Tim Tilley? If the answer is YES then I'm delighted to introduce the author's new book which will be published in September 2022 by USBORNE. You only need to look at the cover for it to pique your curiosity. However, within the covers, this story is another masterclass in creating a narrative that has all the ingredients to make your fantasy dreams come true. 

We have all the characteristics of the first book as it is set in the same story world as Harklights. The ecological nature subtly plays out in the story; it really gives the book grounding as it asks What If questions of the reader. For example, what if you woke up after three hundred years, how much of the natural landscapes, forests, and wild open spaces would have disappeared? What would you feel? This is the idea that intertwines itself with a magical ride of joy, fun, and puzzle solving. 

The story is an illustrative delight - full of family adventure and wonderfully colourful characters that light up the sky like a rainbow. However, also be prepared to travel head-on into the eye of a storm and face a magical battle that explodes with action and drama. If this sound like your adventure then this is a great Halloween read for you. So pull up your socks and join Will on an EPIC quest filled with missing parents, lost treasure, mythical storm-lions, ruined towers, and many broomstick chases through a plot thicker than witches' soup. What more could you possibly ask for? 

I really love the mix of classic fairytale themes in Tim's books. He is a  FANTASTIC daydreamer; I'm sure he must have a cauldron of ideas that he brews and stews. Each book is a magical journey that will both endure the test of time but also be keenly loved by everyone interested in a good story. This is another sure-fire winner from one of my favourite authors and publishing houses. Thank you for sending this book; it was a real privilege to read. Keep up the amazing work! 





Wednesday, 31 August 2022

Cressida Cowell - Which Way to Anywhere - Book Review - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

 

Which Way to Anywhere is the brand new magical adventure written and illustrated by the no.1 bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon and The Wizards of Once, Cressida Cowell. This gorgeous book will fly into the shops (via the back of magical hoovers) on the 15th of September 2022. It has been published in glorious hardback by Hodder Children's Books. 

The first words of this book were written over 25 years ago. Written in spidery, messy longhand they have lay waiting in the writer's writing shed. The pages yellowing as the magic slowly seeps away from the dormant story; waiting its turn for a new audience. However, that audience is now us and we are to be taken on a spectacular ride in this brilliant new series. Hold your breath, we're going in...

We plunge into a brilliant world of escapism from the very first page. In my opinion, this is the best story the author has written. It is also the most personal as it pays a silent and respectful nod to her father. 

Now come with me if you dare. It's time to be introduced to a family that has a magical secret; a child with a powerful gift to draw maps. However, these maps become real worlds that can be visited in a heartbeat. You will find yourself being escorted by the unlikely heroes of K2 O'Hero, his twin sister Izzabird, and their waring stepsiblings. You'll visit worlds with six hundred moons, burning rivers and dark, twisty jungles alive with plants that hunt by the smell of fear. Maybe there's time to visit Excelsiar way beyond the distant poles but watch your step as you GO! 

Without a shadow of a doubt, this will be one of the best reads of the year. The story strikes a quirky balance of wild and outrageous storytelling that only great authors can dream up. It is full of brilliant characters, dialogue, and a daring rescue mission with terrible beasts and a robot assassin. Everything about this story makes it a fantastic compulsive read. As a story sat lingering over the years, this book has now been turned into an epic read that radiates fun and magic.  Dream BIG and travel well. 



Wednesday, 20 July 2022

Loris Owen - The Myriad Mysteries of Eartha Quicksmith (BK2) - Book Review - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books


Hello everybody - we hope you are managing to keep cool this week! One of our favourite books of July 2022 has to be the epic and thrilling second book in the QUICKSMITH series by Loris Owen. The book has been published by Firefly Press Ltd and has a cracking book cover image. I think this is by Anne Glenn but unfortunately, I cannot find any information in the book to back this up. 

New readers might not instantly realise that this is the follow-up book to The Ten Riddles of Earth Quicksmith. It's not essential that you start at the beginning of the series as it is possible to read this as a standalone story. However, I would personally recommend reading the series in sequence as the back history is such an important aspect of the book to understand the complexity of the plot. It will certainly help you to understand more within the second book. 

Currently, there are so many books being published that the choice is vast and somewhat challenging in being able to find a great read. However, this author (Loris Owen) has a fantastic vision of the world she has created; it's magical and easily grips the reader by transporting you to the world of fantasy and mayhem.  The storyline is like no other book. It's a quest full of well-imagined sequences and ideas that are told with so much depth and detail. The plot allows you to explore with the characters as you follow the clues and decipher new riddles to solve the mystery as well as defeat old enemies. 

It's a fast-paced full of action-adventure with some rather big surprises along the way. The storyline stretches the imagination like an elastic band propelling the reader on a great fantasy ride full of fun and enjoyment. It's a really great sequel that takes you further into a creative world of discovery that is unlike any book I have read for some time. Packed with inventions, teamwork, and gadgets that will have you scratching your head, it's time to travel the Myriad waves and find where the CRAZY PAVING might be. 

Be BOLD and be brave as you travel through space and time with Kip and his friends to a strange world. The places are so bizarre, with creatures and technology so unfathomable, that you might JUST need a helping of sideways thinking. The book is layered with a strange energy that will set your teeth tingling and your toes tapping as you evade capture by the Myriad Pirates. The secrets of the Ark hold the key but a freak accident will just nicely set you up for a quest that will have you wanting more. If this sounds like your type of book strap yourself in, come and DREAM BIG for the time of your life with our recommended book of the month. You can buy HERE. 

Sunday, 8 May 2022

Hana Tooke (Author), Ayesha L. Rubio (Illustrator) - THE MIDNIGHTERS - Book Review - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

 


The best stories feel like dreams... This is the second middle-grade book by Hana Tooke. THE MIDNIGHTERS has the power to transport you in your dreams to one of the best places in the world; the world of fantasy and make-believe. This book really is magnificent - you only need to hold and see the proof copy to know that it is going to be a great read. The book will be published on 23rd June 2022 by Puffin Books; the cover has been illustrated by Ayesha L. Rubio. I'm really looking forward to seeing the final hardback copy once it's been published. 

Streetlamps looked like fallen stars is one of the first lines in the book. As soon as you read these words, the magic and the power instantly transport you into a world of awe and wonder. This is a gothic story full of magic, invention, and intrigue. The dark and unsettling nature is so delicious to read and savour, it really is spellbinding stuff. The reader follows in the footsteps of the leading character happily wandering the streets and alleyways.

Ema Va┼íkov is the twelfth child to be born into an extraordinary family in extraordinary circumstances. She has the gift to predict events before they happen. However, will the bad omens come TRUE? Set in Prague in December 1877, the story uncovers secret midnight adventures with a mystery girl called Silvie. Unfortunately, she suddenly goes missing providing the opportunity to uncover the secrets of her disappearance and her identity. This story will really take your breath away; it'll steal your heartbeat as you cycle on one of Josef's handmade boneshaker bikes. It's full of places that will make your imagination explode and dazzle whilst the plot is so thick with possibilities you will not what to miss this adventure. 

This book is a true delight and one of the best reads of the year. It's a story full of adventure, friendship, facing fears, and finding out who you really are. It's time for you to find the secret society and go behind the four different doors: The Dreamer, The Illusionist, The Bone Sculptor, and The Astronomer. Each place contains a pinch of magic, a splash of the macabre, a dollop of invention, and a world full of wonder. You will not be disappointed - this is a truly enchanting read that is up there with the very best. 


You can buy the book HERE. 

Friday, 25 March 2022

Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books - Jason Rohan - S.T.E.A.L.T.H.: Access Denied (BK1) - Book Review

 


Are you ready for a new series from Jason Rohan? Are you looking for a good book that plunges you into a world of gadgets, espionage, and the world's deadliest weapon? If so, then you might have just come to the right place. Let me introduce you to S.T.E.A.L.T.H - Access Denied - which is due to be published by Nosy Crow on 7th April, 2022. It's time for an unlikely set of kids to save the WORLD again. This is the kind of story you can really escape into as you travel down a spider's web of intrigue encountering some rather bizarre moments.

IT'S JUST ANOTHER DAY, that is until Arun arrives home from school. His house is full of armed police and his dad's just disappeared. This all leads to a brilliant start featuring a secret AI project called MANDROID. The narrative is a really slick-tight performance from a group of kids all with interesting backstories. Arun is smart and reserved, Sam is the geeky one who loves tech and Donna is the action, athletic tough-talking member of the group. The characters really pull the story together like magic glue which sticks to the reader in many fantastic and vivid ways. Their ability to problem-solve is a particular strength of the narrative that makes it particularly enjoyable. 

There are plenty of scrapes including the attempted theft of the deadliest weapon on Earth by a group of organised villains - never mind the car chase smashes and run-ins with the police. The plot is a race to save the day; it's ingenious, clever, and at times produces some deeply amusing situations. I absolutely loved the characters as they were warm, genuine, and relatable. I also enjoyed the depth and detail of information given when introducing the weapons and gadgets.  

This is a perfect book for everybody; a great mash-up of a story, influenced by comics, in a heart-stopping mission that will be sure to be your next favourite read. It has a great climactic ending surely leading up to another book. In the meantime, seek out a copy of S.T.E.A.L.T.H in the near future.  Access is only denied if you do not BUY a copy and read it. What are you waiting for? 

You can read an exclusive extract HERE

Monday, 28 February 2022

Jo Clarke - Libby and the Parisian Puzzle (The Travelling School Mysteries 1) - Book Review - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

 


Author: Jo Clarke
Book Title: Libby and the Parisian Puzzle
Series: The Travel School Mysteries (Bk1)
Illustrated: Becka Moor
Publisher: Firefly Press (3 Mar. 2022)
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎978-1913102708 - Paperback 
Key Words: Mystery, Crime, Paris, Young Adults

The world of fun and mystery starts here with one of my favourite books of March 2022. Just imagine you could go to a school that changed its geographical location every month. Well, if you attended Mousedale's Travelling School this would be your reality. New York (overlooking the Statue of Liberty) followed by the Eiffel Tower in Paris. What an educational adventure and it is where we find Libby following in her adventurous footsteps. 

This is a classic detective mystery with a case to solve and a great location to go with it. It's a plot that starts with a mystery but it soon becomes a complicated puzzle to be solved by our unwilling protagonist and her newfound friend. The plot is well-written with some fantastic images that come to life in a whirlwind of action and some great references to the city of Paris. You'll certainly enjoy the illustration delights by Becka Moor that bring the story alive.

I very much enjoyed the slice of quirkiness from the character's perspective. Whilst I was hoping for a few more red herrings, the story nevertheless really sets up the series nicely for a few more adventures to create a fantastic series. 

This is a really great family fun adventure for everybody to read. It's a fast-paced narrative including a jewel robbery, hot chocolate drinking, and a fantastic friendship all set within the amazing backdrop of Paris. Get ready for a journey so grab a copy of the book, sit back and enjoy the ride - see you on the other side. 

Friday, 11 February 2022

Dan Smith - Nisha's War - Book Review Blog Tour 2022 - Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

 

Welcome everybody to a jolly blog tour for Dan Smith's latest book Nisha's War. To find out more about this fantastic book please check out my review below. On Twitter we have a fantastic giveaway; a copy of the book, bar of chocolate and a £10 book voucher to spend on more great books. Please see our pinned tweet on Twitter @Enchantedbooks. Ends 18.02.22 UK Only.

Publisher: Chicken House (3 Feb. 2022)

Book Illustrator: Matthew Land and Cover design by Steve Wells 

Age Range: 9+ (Only a guide)

Paperback: 368 Pages - ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎978-1912626755

What makes a good story? Well, for me a good story starts from the very first page by creating a really interesting and intriguing narrative. In Dan Smith's latest book, Nisha's War, the story starts on a grey, Spring evening. Mother and daughter, hardly more than skin and bone, are weary and tired as they depart from the train. The author describes them as travellers from another time and place. By this point, I was hooked and really looking forward to reading more.

The story has so much depth; focusing on the past and the future. There are so many themes that it is a real marvel and a treat. Essentially, this is a historical English ghost story with the main characters fleeing from the WARTIME invasion of Singapore in 1942. Snippets of the character's experiences are shared by Nisha (a young girl) from her diary. However, the story also transports itself to a remote area in the North of England where a brilliantly haunting tale is introduced. There's a puzzle to solve and the introduction of a mysterious weeping tree.

The story is really written with heart and soul; pulling on different character emotions and feelings. Complex topics such as loneliness, grief, guilt, and being a refugee are all tackled creating an interesting discussion. It's a book that feels very relevant today such as coping with many changes that are beyond our control. The story is fantastically well written as it develops different backdrops that submerge you into really creative worlds. 

This has to be the best book that Dan has written to date. It's a story that will give you hope but also a chill to the heart. There is action and adventure in an abundance but also a classic dollop of mystery, and heartwarming friendship. Overall, it is a brilliant, thought-provoking story - it made me think that perhaps it is time for me to find some new friends.

Synopsis: Malaya, 1942. Nisha’s home is destroyed by war and she and her mother, Amma, flee to her father’s ancestral house in England, perched on a cliff top on the cold Northern coast.

When Amma falls gravely ill, Nisha is left to face her formidable grandmother alone. Grandmother's rules are countless, and her Anglo-Indian granddaughter is even forbidden from climbing the old weeping tree.

But when a ghost child beckons Nisha to sit under its boughs, and promises her Amma’s life in return for three truths, its pull proves irresistible ...